Break out the cranberries

Does your holiday table laden with all the trimmings include cranberry sauce? Or is cranberry jelly persona non grata at family celebrations?

I have to admit, as a kid, I wasn’t much of a fan of the stuff. Mom (or grandma, or some other relative) would dump the can on a plate and slice it.

Was I surprised when I discovered cranberry sauce doesn’t have to be a sickeningly sweet, gelatinous mass.

I began experimenting with homemade cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving 2012, when I tried this sugarless recipe from Wellness Mama.

Since I made it more than a year ago, I don’t have many details. I don’t remember hating it, but I’m pretty sure I ended up tossing some in the trash.

Undaunted, I decided to try making my own cranberry sauce again this year.

It was a last-minute decision, actually. I hadn’t been planning to until Jenn’s Speedy Stovetop Cranberry Sauce swayed me. I was at Safeway after work on Thanksgiving eve, picking up the berries and limes. I had to buy the more expensive organic cranberries because that’s all they had left …

Speedy Stovetop Cranberry SauceWell worth the expense, because the recipe’s a winner! This one is sweet and tart, with just a hint of lime (vs. the usual orange). Jenn is a genius!

Not only did it taste fantastic on my Thanksgiving Crock Pot chicken, it also makes great sandwiches.

I liked this recipe so much that I made another batch on Cyber Monday. This picture is from that second batch, to which I added half a pear, chopped.

It’d be great on a turkey sandwich. Imagine layers of turkey, cream cheese and cranberry sauce …

That sandwich is still on my to-try list—and I have a whole bowlful of sauce left to do it. But I’ve been rocking the cranberry sauce-infused breakfast sandwiches, inspired by Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean. Apparently she didn’t post a recipe on her blog, only a photo on Twitter or Instagram, because I went looking for a link and couldn’t find one.

Anyway …Breakfast Sammy Here’s what was in the mix for me: A Sandwich Thin, an egg with (runny yolk), a slice of cheddar cheese and cranberry sauce.

It might sound weird, but it’s not. Trust me. A little savory and a little sweet, this sandwich makes a great late-night snack or start to the day.

Lindsay also has her own recipe for fresh cranberry sauce. I haven’t tried it yet, but I might for Christmas.

Anything to banish that nasty canned cranberry jelly from my holiday table. If I never see another slice of cranberry sauce, it’ll be too soon.

Do you have a favorite cranberry sauce recipe? Ever tried it in a breakfast sandwich?

// < ![CDATA[
// < ![CDATA[
//

Coupons powered by Coupons.com

 

 

6 thoughts on “Break out the cranberries

  1. Pingback: @TheChicklets today | Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

  2. Whooohoooo!!!! Glad you loved it!!! I froze a ginormous batch of it for sandwiches and to make my crackberry spread [http://www.peasandcrayons.com/2012/11/put-this-on-everything.html] <— ohmygosh put that on a turkey sandwich and prepare to swoon! It's a copycat from a fancy schmatzy restaurant I used to frequent in FL and quite possibly the stuff dreams are made of! ❤ Thanks for trying the sauce, darling! xoxo

  3. Oooh, bacon. That’d be a great addition to my sandwich. Thanks for the idea — and thanks for stopping by. I’m putting your sauce on the Christmas to-make list. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

