Eat to Live…

…not the other way around. (Yes, I’m the queen of cliches. Sue me.)

My dad is a former smoker, and to this day he has a real problem with people who smoke around him. Once, after changing seats because the person behind him was smoking, he told me, “There is no zealot like a convert.”

I live that concept. When I find an idea I like, I jump into it with both feet.

In the 90’s, I tried the Atkins diet. I didn’t buy the book; I just went with what my cousin told me, boosting my protein intake and cutting back on carbs and fats. I must’ve missed the part about having fats. I dropped 25 pounds in no time flat…and gained it all back.

In the 00’s, I tried South Beach. This time I got smart:  I bought the book. Loved the whole idea. Ate meat like it was going off the market. Finished the induction period and ate salads every chance I got. Actually, I found South Beach to be healthier than Atkins; I felt better on it. I lost at least 40 pounds and wore size medium pants. Then somewhere along the line, and I can’t remember what it was, I hit an emotional downturn and ate back all the weight I lost and then some. Not in one sitting, but eventually I ended up weighing the same as I did when I was 9 months pregnant.

Welcome to now. I’m a vegetarian. My son says it’s “just a phase Mom’s going through” but I’ve always been a veggie fan. My brother and I were polar opposites; he’d feed his broccoli to the dog while I slipped her the gristly pieces of meat I couldn’t bring myself to chew. Needless to say, she was one happy dog. Also a bit overweight.

Over the weekend I saw a show on PBS by Dr. Joel Furman about micronutrition. Unfortunately I missed the first half hour, but I got the gist of it. It suggested that for “incredible health”, we should focus on micronutrition and make GOMBS staples in our diet:

G – greens

O – onions

M – mushrooms

B – beans/berries

S – seeds

I thought, well heck, I’m doing that now. I’m a mushroom junkie. If I can find a way to work mushrooms onto my plate, they’re there. (For the record, mushrooms and low-sugar ice cream…no.) Supposedly this combination not only results in optimum health but after a short time making this your regular routine, it’ll taste delicious to you.

Know what? It’s right.

When I first became a vegetarian, I did this exact thing, and I came to think of cashews and macadamias as a treat akin to chocolate. Better still, I lost my chocolate cravings. I kid you not. My Girl Card is at risk but there you have it. Strawberries became delicacies; I’d see them on TV and salivate. Cake and cookies lost their appeal because I knew if I had one, I wouldn’t feel as good as I would after a small bowl of berries (okay, sprinkled with Splenda). And you already know about me and mushrooms. 🙂

I’ll let you know my progress as I continue. In the mean time, what have YOU changed in your life to make yourself feel good?

One thought on “Eat to Live…

  1. I’ve flopped around a time or two, trying to figure out what works best for me. I’ve concluded denying myself the pleasure of anything makes me crave it so much I binge on it, so counting calories is the way for me. I’ve been eating tons of GOM and berries. I’ve never been a fan of any kind of bean and some seeds are more fattening that others. I sprinkle flax seed on just about everything now and I love adding a tablespoon of sunflower seeds to any salad, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

