Lemon Sage Chicken Scallopini with Apple Cider Glaze

Butternut Squash, Connie Cockrell

My Butternut Squash Harvest by Connie Cockrell

It’s NaNo! National Novel Writing Month to be exact. If I’m not done with my cozy mystery by now (I’m writing this early in November) I’m darned close. I’ve titled it Mystery at the Fair, and the series is called the Jean Hays Series after my title character. I’ve done the cover too, though I may be tweaking the back cover blurb for awhile yet.

The thyme I talked about last month? I finally got it down, the tiny leaves picked from the stems, an hour and a half of work while I talked to my mom on the phone, and put into a jar. Yay! I picked and washed sage and rosemary and they’re on the rack now. I also picked all of my butternut squash. That’s them up there at the top of the post. I keep them in the garage just like that.

But I held one out to use for supper that night. You can prepare squash by baking, boiling, roasting or grilling. I chose boiling for that meal. Here’s how I prepped the squash. Wash the outside of it with soap and water. On a large cutting board cut the stem and blossom ends off. Then cut the squash in half at the point where the neck meets the round bulb base. That makes the squash easier to handle. Cut the round part in half vertically, not around the wide part of the bulb and scrape out the seeds with a spoon. Use a vegetable peeler to peel the skin off. It’s too tough to eat. Then cut the neck in half, long-wise and peel that. Cut all of it up into 1 inch dice and put in a saucepan covered with water. A pinch of salt in there will season the squash. Cook for about 1/2 an hour on medium heat and test for doneness with a fork, just like potatoes. Drain, add a little butter, a tablespoon of real maple syrup, and mash. Yummy. There’s our side dish.

Lemon Sage Chicken Scallopini with Apple Cider Glaze

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1T fresh Sage chopped very fine

1 lemon, fine zest and juice

1/2 cup fresh apple cider

1/4 cup gluten free flour

Salt and pepper to taste.

Oil for pan frying

I first heard of Scallopini way back when I was a young wife. I got the recipe out of Women’s Day or Family Circle. Traditionally scallopini is veal but they used chicken breast or pork chops. I now use the basics quite often, mostly with chicken breast. It’s affordable, healthy and very tasty.

Cut the chicken breast in half, horizontally, as though you were butterflying them open, just cut all the way through. You can just butterfly them open but then you have a piece of chicken large enough to cover a dinner plate. I find that to be too much.  Put a sheet of wax paper or plastic wrap on your counter. Tear off another to use in a second. Put a breast half on the wax paper. Lay the second sheet on top of the chicken. Pound it out with a meat mallet or a frying pan or a rolling pin until it’s an even thickness all the way around. Do that for all four halves.

Sprinkle the zest, sage, salt and pepper over all four pieces, be sure to sprinkle both sides. Sprinkle the pieces, both sides, with the flour. Preheat the frying pan with a little oil and put the pieces in the hot pan. Fry each side about 5 minutes, over medium heat, sprinkling each piece with lemon juice when you turn them. When both sides are golden brown and you’re pretty sure they’re just about done, pour the apple cider over all the pieces. The cider will deglaze the pan. Cook that until it’s boiled down to a thick glaze, about 5 minutes but be careful, it goes from thick to burnt in a heartbeat.

It’s done. I served this with the squash and quinoa. Hubby declared it delicious.

Thanks for stopping by Chicklets in the Kitchen. Please tell us about your garden or favorite chicken recipe in the comments box below if you feel so inclined.

My name is Connie Cockrell and I write SciFi, Fantasy, Women’s Fiction and a lot of other things and you can find links to all of my books at www.ConniesRandomThoughts.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

