Christmas Cookies: Mexican Wedding Cakes – Gluten Free

Merry Christmas to everyone. May you have a relaxing day with family and friends.

These cookies are also called Russian Tea Cakes or even snowballs and they’re my daughter’s favorite cookie. It wouldn’t be Christmas in our house without them. I have started just making these. Back when the girl was little I’d go all out. I made sugar cookies, jam thumbprints, these Mexican Wedding cakes, all sorts of things. Now, I’ve gotten lazy and I just call this my signature cookie and make a double batch to give away and enjoy at home.
I’m in the habit of sending out a cookie tin of homemade candy and these cookies to my sister, brothers and daughter as a Christmas gift. So I have to get them made early in December to meet mailing requirements and deadlines. So I took the opportunity to take a few pictures while I was making them. The recipe comes from my Betty Crocker cookbook with adjustments for making them gluten free. My cookbook is so old it’s being held together with duct tape. A sign that it’s provided many a happy meal, I guess. The recipe below is doubled and makes about 5 dozen, one inch cookies.

Russian Teacakes
Also called Mexican Wedding Cakes

2 C softened butter
1 C confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla (Optional: 1 t vanilla, 1 t almond flavoring)
4 1/2 C all purpose flour (Optional for gluten free: 4 1/2 cup all purpose gluten free baking flour. I used Bob’s Red Mill but whatever you use is probably fine.)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cup finely chopped nuts (I generally use walnuts but almonds would be good too.)

Heat oven to 400 degrees F

In a large bowl cream butter, sugar and vanilla.

Creamed butter,sugar, flour,nuts.

Creamed butter and sugar with added flour and nuts.

Work in the flour, salt and nuts until the dough holds together. Note: This is a dry dough, you’ll be tempted to add water. Don’t. It will hold together. It’s supposed to be a little “sandy”.

Creamed butter,sugar, flour,nuts

The Dough ready but still ‘sandy’ looking.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place on an ungreased baking sheet.

Cookie Dough, ready to bake

Dough Ready to bake

Bake 10 – 12 minutes or until set but not brown. Let cool until you can handle them then while warm, roll in confectioners’ sugar. Cool on a wire rack. Roll in sugar again.

Dipping baked cookies in sugar.

Dipping baked cookies in sugar.

Makes about 4 dozen cookies
Thanks for stopping by Chicklets in the Kitchen. Please tell us about your garden or favorite cookie recipe in the comments box below if you feel so inclined.
My name is Connie Cockrell and I write SciFi, Fantasy, Women’s Fiction and a lot of other things and you can find links to all of my books at http://www.ConniesRandomThoughts.wordpress.com.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Connie, Cookies, Gluten-Free, Recipes and tagged , , , , by conniecockrell. Bookmark the permalink.

About conniecockrell

Connie Cockrell began writing in response to a challenge from her daughter in October 2011 and has been hooked ever since. Her books run the gamut from SciFi and Fantasy to Contemporary to Halloween and Christmas stories. She's published two novels, The Gulliver Station series, three collections of short stories and has been included in three different anthologies. Connie continues to write about whatever comes into her head. If you’d like to know more, go to http://www.conniesrandomthoughts.com or to Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConniesRandomThoughts.

One thought on “Christmas Cookies: Mexican Wedding Cakes – Gluten Free

  1. That recipe looks remarkably like my mom’s recipe for Mexican Wedding Cakes. They were just one of the cookies she made every year at Christmastime. I used to love those things … but I’ve made them exactly once. They’re a lot of work!

    We’re a butter cookie family. However, this year I’ve been slacking and haven’t even made a batch of those.

Leave a Reply

