Chicken Cordon Bleu: Chicklets in the Kitchen

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finished Cordon Bleu

Once in awhile, I like to get fancy and in February, I did just that. I happened to have ham and swiss cheese on hand and boneless chicken breast in the freezer so I decided to make chicken cordon bleu.

The first time I ever had this dish was when my husband and I were stationed in West Germany in the late 70’s. We went to a local Gast Haus (pub) in the small town where we lived and I spotted it on the menu. I’d heard of it in movies and books. Here was my chance to try it. It arrived on a plate by itself and covered the entire plate. Crispy and golden brown on the outside, the inside was a delight of tender white chicken wrapped around a ham and cheese center that just oozed out onto the plate when I cut into it.

I’m still trying to perfect my dish but here’s the recipe.

Hardware

3 pie plates for the egg, flour, and bread crumb

Large frying pan

Cookie sheet lined with wax paper

Cookie sheet lined with foil and cooling racks

Long sharp knife

Cutting board

Wooden toothpicks

Wax Paper

Mallet or rolling pin to pound out the chicken breast

 

Ingredients

1 chicken breast per person, I used three as I was expecting a guest

Salt and pepper to taste

1 Cup flour (I used gluten free flour) seasoned with salt, pepper and herbs. I used dried thyme.

1 Cup bread Crumbs (I used gluten free crumbs I made myself)

2 eggs slightly whisked

2 slices ham per chicken breast

2 slices Swiss Cheese per chicken Breast

Vegetable Oil for frying

Heat oven to 350 degrees F

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Boneless Whole Chicken Breast

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Butterfly the Chicken

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Butterflied

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pound Thin

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All Butterflied

Butterfly each chicken breast lengthwise. Place between sheets of wax paper and pound uniformly thin. Place on the cookie sheet, lined with wax paper to hold until all breasts are prepared.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Black Forest Ham and Swiss Cheese

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Line Half the breast with the Ham

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Top with the Swiss Cheese

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Secure all edges with toothpicks

Line one-half of each breast with the ham slices and cheese. Do your best to avoid the ham and cheese hanging outside of the breast. Fold over and secure edges with the toothpicks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Preheat Frying Pan

Add oil to the frying pan and heat to medium.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1st egg wash

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coat with flour

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2nd egg wash

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coat with Crumbs

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brown the bundles

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Holding until ready to fry

Dip the filled chicken bundles in the egg, the flour to coat, then the egg, then the crumbs. Put the breaded chicken in the frying pan. Brown on both sides and move to the foil lined cookie sheet and place on the wire racks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brown on Both Sides

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ready for the Oven

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Baking

Bake for 30 minutes to 45 minutes. Remove from the oven and let rest for a few minutes. Serve. I had grilled asparagus and mashed potatoes as my sides.

Thanks for stopping by Chicklets in the Kitchen. Have you ever had chicken cordon bleu? Please tell us about it in the comments box below if you feel so inclined.

My name is Connie Cockrell and I write SciFi, Fantasy, Mysteries, and a lot of other things and you can find links to all of my books at www.ConniesRandomThoughts.com.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Connie, G.F. Main Dish, Gluten-Free, Meat, Recipes, Vintage and tagged , , , by conniecockrell. Bookmark the permalink.

About conniecockrell

Connie Cockrell began writing in response to a challenge from her daughter in October 2011 and has been hooked ever since. Her books run the gamut from SciFi and Fantasy to Contemporary to Halloween and Christmas stories. She's published two novels, The Gulliver Station series, three collections of short stories and has been included in three different anthologies. Connie continues to write about whatever comes into her head. If you’d like to know more, go to http://www.conniesrandomthoughts.com or to Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConniesRandomThoughts.

Leave a Reply

