The Pitfalls of Being Gluten-Free

So aside from missing out on some of favorite things, muffins, cornbread, pumpkin pie in the crust, I’ve discovered a new problem with being Gluten-Free. This one is a little harder to take.

For the first time in my life I have high cholesterol. I’ve always been underweight, with low blood pressure and very low cholesterol. Now, I’d heard from others there was a risk of weight gain by going gluten-free. But after six months on the diet, my weight didn’t significantly change.

No. The real shocker came two days ago when I received a call after a routine check up. The nurse called to schedule a follow-up because my cholesterol was high.

My jaw dropped.

So I did a little research and learned on top of weight gain, high cholesterol is a common problem for people on a gluten-free diet. I also learned that vitamin deficiency is an issue.

Great. I went from solving one problem to creating another. So I sat down and started to examine what I’ve been eating for the past six months. My husband’s solution to lower cholesterol was to cut out french fries and chocolate from my diet.

Yes, I let him live despite the heinous suggestion. But, while I can give up fries, I refuse to abandon chocolate. Mostly because I’m like David Banner on Gamma radiation without it. 🙂

Honestly, my diet at home is decent. When I’m out and running errands…well, that’s another story. I tend to eat poorly. And if the fast food restaurants dotting every corner of the city are any indication, I’m not the only one.

So aside from limiting my intake of chocolate (sniff) and eliminating fries, what else can I do? Because I seriously don’t want to go on medication. Start by adding in whole grain rice instead of white rice. Also, modify my meals by ensuring that beans, chickpeas, almonds, sunflower seeds, gluten-free oatmeal,

I’m also adding vitamins to my diet. Plus, every morning, I’m starting the day with a piece of fresh fruit. Next time I go to the grocery store, I’ll buy whole grain rice instead of just white rice. And when I make hard-boiled eggs, I just won’t eat the yolk.

It’s easy to eat healthier foods at home but the challenge will come when I’m on the run. Since I’m a mom with two boys in no less than three extracurricular activities each, I’m constantly on the go.

Now it’s your turn. Tell, what do you eat on the go? Have you stopped to consider what you’re munching on? And more importantly, how can a diet be revised without sacrificing the almighty chocolate?

7 thoughts on “The Pitfalls of Being Gluten-Free

  1. Oy, what do you do? Stomach cramps or blocked arteries… choices, choices.

    If I know I’ll be running around, I try to keep a granola bar in my purse. I don’t think that’s an 0ption for you, though. One of my friends told me of a time her sister pulled a roasted chicken out of her handbag. 🙂

    • Well, I haven’t pulled a roasted chicken out of my handbag but I have pulled out a tupperware of cut-up fresh fruit. You should have seen the look on my boys’ faces when I did that. The younger one said, “Got any ice cream in there?” 🙂

Leave a comment